Tuesday, 16 July 2019

Member for Wright Scott Buchholz has thanked local volunteers for the work they do and the invaluable contributions they make to the local community.

More than 30 Lockyer Valley volunteers were recognised at the 2019 Wright Community Awards ceremony at the Gatton Shire Hall.

The event is in its third year and is divided into a ceremony for each local government area in Wright, Gold Coast, Lockyer and in 2019 a joint Scenic Rim/Logan ceremony. 

Prior to announcing the recipients, Member for Wright Scott Buchholz said the region 'punched above its weight' in terms of community contribution.

Scott Buchholz said the awards were established to thank volunteers across the community for the contributions they made through volunteering.

"Those who make a contribution... are not motivated to do it for the accolade that comes their way,” Scott Buchholz said.

"They don't do it for the praise and they definitely don't do it for the money; they do it to make their community a better place.”

Scott Buchholz said volunteers were able to do more for their community than the three levels of government could afford to.

 "From an economic perspective... If local government, state government and federal government were to be paying those volunteers (nationally) it would cost around $13.4 billion,” Scott Buchholz said.

Award recipients in the Lockyer Valley region include:
Joshua Dingle, Carolyn Joy Becker, Gary John Young JP, David Klinge, Russell Berlin, Gordon Roberts, Stephen Price, Kerri MacMahon, John Bushell, Rodney Gee, Jasmine Hunn, Margaret Philp, Kerry Battersby, Julie Dorrington, Donna Kelleher, Margaret Cole, Meachelle Roelofs, Vince Price, Neil Scott, Regina Samykanu-Vuthapanich, Neil Cole, Robert Fowke, Bobbi Dingle, Ivy O'Brien, Euan McDonald, Jill-Maree Ilka, Ann Bichel, Jim and Doreen Pitman, Bernadette Gee, Marlayna Bryan, Tracey Lewis, and Anita Bakes.

Beaudesert Electorate Office
21 William Street, Beaudesert QLD 4285
Phone: (07) 5541 0150
Fax: (07) 5541 4150
Email Scott Buchholz MP
Authorised by Scott Buchholz LNP MP Federal Seat of Wright, 21 William Street, Beaudesert Q 4285 | Login | Website Design by DSIS